

## **ORDER OF THE DAY**

Wednesday, 7 May 2014

Plenary	room
---------	------

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.	Committee on South-South Cooperation
9 – 9.10 a.m.	Welcoming remarks by Alicia Bárcena, Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
9.10 – 9.20 a.m.	Election of officers and adoption of the agenda
9.20 – 9.40 a.m.	Report on technical cooperation activities, by Raúl García Buchaca, Chief, Programme Planning and Operations Division of ECLAC
9.40 – 11 a.m.	<b>Panel: International cooperation for equality</b> , moderated by Antonio Prado, Deputy Executive Secretary of ECLAC
	<ul> <li>Group 1:</li> <li>Hege Araldsen, Ambassador of Norway in Chile</li> <li>Jean-Paul Joulia, Head of Unit, Regional Programmes for Latin America and Caribbean of the European Commission</li> <li>Christian Abstein, Regional Cooperation Adviser of the Embassy of Germany in Peru</li> <li>Benedicte Bull, Professor at the University of Oslo</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Group 2:</li> <li>Moni Pizani, Regional Director for Latin America of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN- Women)</li> <li>Michel Schlaifer, Regional Cooperation Adviser of France</li> <li>Inmaculada Zamora, Coordinator of the EUROsociAL programme</li> <li>Tarcila Rivera, Director of the Centre for Indigenous Cultures of Peru</li> </ul>
	Final comments on the panel and report on the study on structural gaps in Costa Rica, by Daniel Titleman, Chief of the Financing for Development Division of ECLAC
11 – 11.15 a.m.	Coffee break
11.15 a.m.–13.00 p.m.	Report on follow-up to the agreements adopted by the Presiding Officers of the Committee on South-South Cooperation during the period 2012-2013
	• Report on indicators of South-South cooperation, by Fernando Prada, consultant from the Peruvian Agency for International Cooperation (APCI)

3 – 3.30 p.m.	Presentation of the document <i>Regional integration: Towards an inclusive value chain strategy</i> , by Alicia Bárcena, Executive Secretary of ECLAC, and Osvaldo Rosales, Chief of the International Trade and Integration Division of ECLAC
3.30 – 4.45 p.m.	<ul> <li>Comments by:</li> <li>Eda Rivas Franchini, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Peru</li> <li>Danilo Astori, Vice-President of Uruguay</li> <li>Antonio José Ferreira Simões, Ambassador, Undersecretary-General for South and Central America and the Caribbean of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Brazil</li> <li>Rogelio Garza Garza, Undersecretary of Industry and Commerce of the Ministry of Economy of Mexico</li> <li>Hugo Martínez, Secretary-General of the Central American Integration System (SICA)</li> <li>Ricardo Carneiro, Executive Director of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)</li> <li>Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Guyana</li> </ul>
4.45 – 5 p.m.	Coffee break
5 – 6 p.m.	Discussion
Room 2	
6 p.m.	Meeting of heads of delegation