

FACTSHEET

What is ECLAC?

The Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (**ECLAC**), one of the United Nations' five regional commissions, was created on February 25, 1948 to contribute to the economic development of Latin America and strengthen economic ties among countries in the region and with other nations of the world. Later, the scope of its work was broadened to include Caribbean nations, and also incorporated the goal of promoting social development in the region.

In 1996, member States reviewed their institutional mission and established that the Commission should serve as a centre of excellence, responsible for cooperating with its member countries in the global analysis of development processes.

This mission includes designing, following-up and evaluating public policies, as well as providing operational services in the following areas: specialized information, advisory services, training, cooperation support, and regional and international coordination.

ECLAC promotes economic and social development through regional and subregional cooperation and integration, planning technical cooperation projects, organizing conferences and meetings of intergovernmental groups and experts and incorporating a regional perspective on global issues at international forums.

The 33 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean are member States of **ECLAC**, together with several North American, Asian and European nations that have historical, economic and cultural ties with the region. The Commission has a total of 46 member States, and 14 non-independent territories in the Caribbean are associate members of the Commission.

Its current Executive Secretary is <u>Alicia Bárcena</u>, of Mexico, whose tenure began on July 1, 2008. The Deputy Executive Secretary is <u>Mario Cimoli</u>, of Argentina. The Deputy Executive Secretary for Management and Programme Analysis is <u>Raúl García-Buchaca</u>, of Cuba.